Backroom Stereo

Backroom Stereo
Colchester Based Pop/Rock Music

© 2024 Backroom Stereo
Website design and build by Mark Tiddy

Top Albums of 2023

Apple Music tells me I spent over 100,000 minutes listening to music this year so here are my top 9 albums that came out in 2023 (in no particular order)

  1. Ashley Cooke – Shot in the Dark (This album was actually my most listened to album of the year!)
  2. Morgan Wade – Psychopath
  3. Blink 182 – One More Time
  4. The Lottery Winners – Anxiety Replacement Therapy
  5. Tommy Price – This Far South
  6. You Me At Six – Truth Decay
  7. Waterparks – Intellectual Property
  8. Pierce the Veil – The Jaws of Life
  9. Ernest – Flower Shops (The Album) – Two Dozen Roses

Read More

Forget December – Christmas Cover #1 Out Now!

After taking a break from releasing Christmas songs last year this year I’ve put together 2 Christmas covers…the first of which is out now!

This is a cover of Something Corporate’s ‘Forget December’ which I’ve been listening to for about 20 years…Andrew McMahon who went on to form Jack’s Mannequin and Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness has been one of my favourite musicians for such a long time and in the year Something Corporate reformed for a few shows it seemed fitting to cover their classic!

Stream it everywhere now and stay tuned for next Friday’s cover!

Read More

My Favourite Albums of 2022

Apple Music tells me I listened to 8,771 songs and 957 artists this year and out of the new music this year here are my 9 favourites (in no particular order) but a special notable mention to Seaforth who, since discovering them in August and seeing them at The Long Road, I’ve had their album on repeat a few times a week!

  1. Seaforth – What I Get For Loving You
  2. Set It Of – Elsewhere
  3. Underoath – Voyeurist
  4. Pup – The Unravelling of Pup The Band
  5. Silverstein – Misery Made Me
  6. Halestorm – Back from the Dead
  7. Deaf Havana – The Present is a Foreign Land
  8. Ocean Grove – Up in the Air Forever
  9. Dan Andriano and the Bygones – Dear Darkness
Best albums of 2022
Read More

The 2021 Christmas Single – I Hate The Snow

For the last 7 year’s Backroom Stereo has always released a Christmas song and up until a couple of weeks ago I thought this was going to be the year I missed…then I wrote a pop-punk Christmas song in about 5 minutes so here is Christmas single number 8 ‘I Hate The Snow’…it’s a minute and a half of pop-punk Christmas fun and a hint at some of the new music I’ve been writing this year!

It’s now streaming everywhere you stream music! Enjoy!

Read More

New Christmas Song – Santa Must Self Isolate

Long term fans will know that for the last 6 (maybe!) years I’ve written and released a Christmas song and this year is no different.

What happened on Christmas Eve when one of the Elves had a new persistent cough and Santa lost his sense of taste? Find out in my new pop-punk holiday classic ‘Santa Must Self Isolate’…a Christmas song for 2020.

Download it now

Read More